Title Bar

Functional Inorganic Materials for Energy and Biomineralization

Neilson Group: new materials and methodologies from kinetic control

Our research revolves around understanding and controlling the formation of materials, their structure and their properties, i.e., materials design. We focus on manipulating and understanding local chemical environments and their influences on electronic properties in new materials, such as magnetism. The overarching theme is correlating structural details of materials with their functional behavior in the development of new and efficient materials of relevance to energy conversion and conservation, for example, new hard magnetic materials and semiconductors for solar energy conversion. The approach is based on asking the question: How does one selectively position (and then find) atoms within a bulk solid? The same overarching chemical perspectives apply to the area of biomineralization as well, particularly to that of bone remodeling. This is an interdisciplinary problem fundamentally rooted in inorganic chemistry, and with profound implications for human and animal disease. Many of the problems we face are intrinsically interdisciplinary as our chemistry sits at the interface with both physics and biology.

News and Updates: updated 10/18/2017

10/2017 Congratulations to Dr. Andy Martinolich who successfully defended his PhD thesis! Congrats and good luck in CA!
8/2017 Welcome to the group Dr. Iain Oswald!
3/2017 Congratulations to Michael who successfully defended his MS Thesis! Congrats!
3/2017 Arnold's paper and collaboration accepted to Rev. Sci. Inst.! Congrats to Arnold and friends at ORNL!
2/2017 Thank you to the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation for recognition of our work through a Sloan Research Fellowship!
2/2017 Thank you to the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement for providing us with a Cottrell Scholarship!
News highlight from CSU: SOURCE
2/2017 Congratulations to Andrew Candia for being awarded a CSU Energy Institute Fellowship
1/2017 Congratulations to Annalise Maughan for winning the Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship award from the International Centre for Diffraction Data!
12/2016 Welcome to the group Victoria and Jewels!
12/2016 Andy's and Jamie's perspective on achieving kinetic control of solid state chemistry accepted to Chem. Mater.! Congrats!!
12/2016 Congratulations to the group, as we are now supported by a NSF CAREER Award!
11/2016 Mary's paper on paracrystallinity in bone accepted to Inorg. Chem.! Congrats to Mary and collaborators at Hope College and USC!
8/2016 Andy's and Josh's paper on circumventing solid-state diffusion accepted to J. Am. Chem. Soc.! Congrats!!
6/2016 Annalise's and Mitchell's paper accepted to J. Am. Chem. Soc.! Congrats to them and to our collaborators at UCL and NREL!!
5/2016 Congratulations to the group, as we are now supported by a DOE Early Career Award!
3/2016 Congratulations to Eve Mozur (grad) for an NSF GRFP Honorable Mention and to Mitchell Bordelon (ugrad) for an NSF GRFP Fellowship! Bravo!
3/2016 Andy's and Robert's paper accepted to Chem. Mater.! Congrats to the Neilson and Shores Groups!!
1/2016 Congratulations to Andy Martinolich for winning the Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship award from the International Centre for Diffraction Data!
1/2016 Congratulations to the Neilson and Prieto Research Groups for winning an award from the W. M. Keck Foundation!

Selected recent publications

kinetic A. J. Martinolich, J. R. Neilson, Towards Reaction-By-Design: Achieving Kinetic Control of Solid State Chemistry with Metathesis (Perspective). Chem. Mater., (2017), 29(2), 479-489. [doi]

defect M. E. Marisa, S. Zhou, B. C. Melot, G. F. Peaslee, J. R. Neilson, Paracrystalline Disorder from Phosphate Ion Orientation and Substitution in Synthetic Bone Mineral. Inorg. Chem., (2016), 55(23), 12290-12298. [doi]

defect A. J. Martinolich, J. A. Kurzman, J. R. Neilson, Circumventing Diffusion in Kinetically-Controlled Solid-State Metathesis Reactions, J. Am. Chem. Soc. (2016), 138(34), 11031-11037. [doi]

defect A. E. Maughan, A. M. Ganose, M. M. Bordelon, D. O. Scanlon, and J. R. Neilson, Defect tolerance to intolerance in the vacancy-ordered double perovskite semiconductors Cs2SnI6 and Cs2TeI6, J. Am. Chem. Soc. (2016), 138(27), 8453-8464. [doi]

lewis A. J. Martinolich, R. F. Higgins, M. P. Shores, J. R. Neilson, Lewis Base Mediated Polymorph Selectivity of Pyrite CuSe2 through Atom Transfer in Solid-State Metathesis, Chem. Mater., (2016), 28, 1854-1860. [doi]

MnSb J. A. Kurzman, A. J. Martinolich, J. R. Neilson, Influence of interstitial Mn on local structure and magnetism in Mn1+xSb, Phys. Rev. B, (2015), 92, 184414. [arXiv],[doi]

Fe3PO7 K. A. Ross, M. M. Bordelon, G. S. Terho, J. R. Neilson, Nanosized helical magnetic domains in strongly frustrated Fe3PO4O3. Phys. Rev. B, (2015), 92, 134419. [arXiv], [doi]
aFe2O3 J. A. Kurzman, K. E. Dettelbach, A. J. Martinolich, C. P. Berlinguette, J. R. Neilson, Structural Characteristics and Eutaxy in the Photo-Deposited Amorphous Iron Oxide Oxygen Evolution Catalyst, Chem. Mater., (2015), 27(9), 3462-3470. [doi]
CuSe2 A. J. Martinolich, J. A. Kurzman, J. R. Neilson, Polymorph Selectivity of Superconducting CuSe2 Through Kinetic Control of Solid-State Metathesis, J. Am. Chem. Soc., (2015), 137(11), 3827-3833. [doi]
trop A. E. Maughan, J. A. Kurzman, J. R. Neilson, Hybrid Inorganic−Organic Materials with an Optoelectronically Active Aromatic Cation: (C7H7)2SnI6 and C7H7PbI3, Inorg. Chem. (2015), 54(1), 370-378. [doi]
pyrite A. J. Martinolich, J. R. Neilson, Pyrite Formation via Kinetic Intermediates Through Low-Temperature Solid-State Metathesis, J. Am. Chem. Soc., (2014), 136(44), 15654–15659. [doi]

Group Photos:
December, 2016. From left to right Victoria Combs, Andy Martinolich, Andrew Candia, Eve Mozur, Paul Todd, Annalise Maughan, Michael Tarne, Julia Trowbridge, Arnold Packlar, Mary Marisa, Erik Rognerud, Jewels Fallon. Kneeling in front: JRN. Not pictured: Ethan Emerson, James Allen, Mohammed Almaker, Kyle Peterson.

April, 2016. From left to right Dr. Josh Kurzman, Eve Mozur, Andy Martinolich, Mitchell Bordelon, Annalise Maughan, Ethan Emerson, JRN (seated), Michael Tarne, Prof. Kate Ross, Mary Marisa, Arnold Paecklar. Not pictured: James Allen, Juliette Granger, Loryn Killpack, Paul Todd . Zappa Kurzman is at the bottom.

January, 2015. From left to right Dr. Josh Kurzman, Arnold Paecklar (seated), Mary Marisa, Annalise Maughan, Michael Tarne (behind), Loryn Killpack (behind), Andy Martinolich, Dr. Kate Ross, JRN (seated), Mitchell Bordelon. Not pictured: James Allen

July, 2014. From left to right James Allen, Mary Marisa, Jamie, Annalise Maughan, Greg Terho, Dr. Josh Kurzman, Andy Martinolich. Not pictured: Mitchell Bordelon, Dr. Kate Ross

Curriculum Vitæ as a PDF



Prof. James R. Neilson
email: james.neilson - at - colostate.edu
phone: 970-491-2958 || lab phone: 970-491-3825
office: Chemistry C111
labs: Chemistry C208 and C214
department page: http://www.chem.colostate.edu/people/jrn/

mailing address:
Colorado State University
Department of Chemistry
1872 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1872

orcid id: 0000-0001-9282-5752